will have 32 teams and there are already 9 classified

In the same meeting in which it is ensured that the format of the World Cup for teams was modified, Fifa also announced changes to the Club World Cup for 2025, which will feature 32 teams.

This new format will be applied from the contest to be held in 2025 and, of course, it has several classified teams that are waiting to find out their rivals.

For a start, the powerful Real Madrid, last champion of the Champions League, is one of the first teams to have secured their place, thanks to having been the best in their confederation. Likewise, Chelsea from England will be the other great team that will represent Europe in the tournament. for which there are still 23 places available.

Real Madrid has secured its place in the tournament to be held in 2025. – Photo: REUTERS

For South America, the qualifiers are Palemiras and Falmengo, the most recent champions of the Copa Libertadores. These teams are joined by Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia), Al Ahly (Egypt), Wydad Casablanca (Morocco), Monterrey (Mexico) and Seattle Sounders (United States).

These clubs achieved their place by being the best in the continental tournament organized by each of their confederations; In addition, Fifa reserved their ticket for them for having been champions of one of the four versions of those competitions prior to the Club World Cup agreed for 2025.

The new format will be played in the middle of the year and each confederation has a number of tickets that was communicated by Fifa:

  • UEFA: 12 slots
  • Conmebol: 6 slots
  • Asia: 4 slots
  • Africa: 4 slots
  • Concacaf: 4 slots
  • Oceania: one quota
  • Host of the contest: one quota
Palmeiras champion of the Brazilian Super Cup.  Photo: Reuters.
For South America will be Palmeiras and Flamengo, last champions of the Copa Libertadores. – Photo: REUTERS
See also  James wastes no time and establishes himself as an entrepreneur; his fortune reaches 80 million dollars

Soccer World Cup 2026: this will be the new Fifa format with 48 teams

The Qatar 2022 Soccer World Cup could be the last in which 32 teams participated. Starting from the edition that will take place in four years, 48 ​​teams will seek to establish themselves as the best on the planet.

This March 14, the council of The International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) meeting in Rwanda would have approved that in the World Cup the United States, Canada and Mexico 2026 participate 48 teams instead of 32a proposal that Gianni Infantino, the head of the football governing body, had been carrying out for a long time.

In the absence of official confirmation from Fifa, the sports press assumes that the adjustment was approved, in such a way that the next World Cup will be unprecedented. What this adjustment raises is that in the first round of the tournament there are 12 groups made up of four teams.

Chelsea did homework
Chelsea also has its place guaranteed in the Club World Cup 2025. – Photo: AFP

Those who qualify for the round of 16 will be the first two of each group and the eight best third parties. From that moment on, the knockout rounds will be played until the grand finale.

The change, of course, will translate into the maximum football event lasting longer than usual. They will go from 64 games to 104, for example, and the tournament would last almost a month and a half, specifically 39 days. That is the information that is known in the absence of details from Fifa.

See also  Piqué spoke for the first time about the Shakira and Bizarrap song in an interview; Though he got mad, he vented with class

The Spanish newspaper Brand He also informed that it will not be the only novelty of the meeting in Rwanda. With the changes in the World Cup, there would also be modifications in favor of the players: the creation of a committee to ensure their health conditions, establishing conditions such as: At least one rest day a week during the event, that the matches are played at least every 72 hours and a few days of vacation before returning to the concentration with the clubs.

It is worth remembering that during the Congress of the Central American Football Union (UNCAF), held last February in Guatemala, Infantino hinted at the changes that the 2026 World Cup will have, to which three Concacaf teams have already qualified.

“Congratulations on qualifying Mexico, Canada and the United States, which have already qualified for this World Cup last week by decision of the FIFA Council. But, in addition to those three, three more Concacaf teams will qualify for sure and possibly even five,” said the Swiss.

You may also like...